BEFFTA UK awards is pleased to honour legendary reggae artist BB Seaton BEFFTA EXCELLENCE AWARD for his wonderful contribution to the industry for over 45 years. BB Seaton christened Harris Lloyd, born September 3rd  1944 under the star sign Virgo, is a rare combination of talent. A singer with a soulful voice, a qualified musician, producer and is credited as one of the most prolific song writers in the history of Jamaican music. He was educated at Cornwall College. BB Started singing and writing songs from his high school days and grew up listening to groups like the Platters, the Drifters, Temptations and the Four Tops to name but a few.

He had his first big hit in Jamaica when teaming up with Delano Stewart and Maurice Roberts to form the Gaylads. They recorded the hit single, “Lady with the Red Dress” on Clement Dodd’s Studio One label in 1967. After ten years of working with companies in Jamaica like Studio One, Tip Top Records, Beverly’s Records and Treasure Isle Records as Artist, A&R, Producer, Writer, Musician and Backing Vocalist, BB decided to go solo.

In 1972 he recorded his first solo single “Accept My Apology” which was an instant hit and there was no turning back from then on. His version of Bill Withers “Lean On Me”, Persuaders, “Thin line Between Love & Hate”,

To date BB has seventeen albums to his credit.

As a Record Producer, he has had hits like “Laugh It Off” by Phil Francis, “Tonight Is the Night” by Claudette Miller. As a writer, BB has written songs for top Jamaican and English artists like Ken Boothe, Marcia Griffiths, Dennis Brown, Delroy Wilson. He served as executive member of and Vice President of the Jamaica Federation of Musicians; he received the El Suzie Award as best song writer and the Jamaican Cultural Development Awards, in 1981 – 1982 for pioneering Jamaican music as a singer and songwriter. In 1997 he received the MKB Denoes & Geddes Award for his 38 years of invaluable contribution to the development and growth of Jamaican music since 1959; he received the IRWMA (International Reggae & World Music) life time achievement in the Hall Of Fame Award in 2007 & the Reggae Heritage Award in 2008. His ambition is to write a song that the whole world will sing.

The star will pick up the BEFFTA EXCELLENCE AWARD on 26th October at the grand BEFFTA UK  AWARDS celebration at Hippodrome, Golders Green in the presence of an international audience. Previous recipients of BEFFTA special honorary awards include the legendary broadcaster Sir Trevor McDonald OBE, Nollywood superstar Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, international designer Adebayo Jones and many more.